She Runs A Good Race

mothering is a marathon

Why The World Needs My New “Mom Blog”

on March 20, 2012

Because I love being a mother.

Because there are days that I don’t.

Because I’m not a perfect mother, and will never pretend that I am.

Because mothering IS an ongoing marathon week after week.

Because I have Luke, Ryan, and Kate filling me up with ideas for blog posts and yet I had no blog.  Till now that is.

Because I am real, raw, and honest.

Because I’m a mom who has more to say then “clean your room,” “please get in the car now,” or any other directives I spout out daily.

Because I have  a real need to share who I am and what I think, feel, experience, and observe as a mom.

Because I am a wife, mother, daughter, girlfriend, runner, and writer. I celebrate all these parts of me and you should be celebrated too.

Because I wear a special needs mom hat for my son Ryan, who was born with Prader-Willi syndrome, a rare genetic disorder.

Because I love to be inspired and hope to inspire other moms and women.

Because I dislike doing arts and crafts and science experiments, and I’m not afraid to admit it.

Because I promise to never act like my children are perfect, or my house is perfect, or my life is perfect.

Because I feel called to write. I always have. Since I was in 2nd grade.  And God keeps putting people in my path to ask me, “Have you started a blog yet?”

Because mothers need other mothers, just like girlfriends need girlfriends.  Badly. Wonderfully. Amazingly. Happily.

Because I finally got the darn courage to do this and it will be so cathartic for my heart.

Because my prayer is that this will be good for your heart as well.

So here I go…

21 responses to “Why The World Needs My New “Mom Blog”

  1. adexoxox says:

    Yay! Because you are all of those things, and so much more…and because you are willing. And that’s 90% of it! Thank you for sharing. I look forward to being on this journey with you!

  2. Liz says:

    It is for ALL these reasons and more that you are the perfect person to start a new blog.. and one that I will LOVE to follow. I am thankful for your openess, honesty and charm. You are already a success in my eyes. Congrats on taking on this new challenge in your life — we will all be the richer for it
    XOXO
    Liz

  3. Gina Loftis says:

    Great start, Jess! So proud of you to get started! You are an inspiration and I can’t wait to keep reading!

  4. Barbara Haberman says:

    HOW PROUD I AM OF YOU. YOU’RE THE BEST!!!
    BARB

  5. Fryda says:

    This is so amazing, you always inspire me…. xo

  6. KIrsten Hanson says:

    Jess!!! Okay…you get “The Thumbs Up Award” in my house this week.
    Love it, love you.

    -Kirsten

  7. Heidi Cunningham says:

    Congratulations Jessica. You write beautifully and I look forward to future inspiring posts!!
    Heidi

  8. kristin says:

    Because the hardest part about writing is telling the truth. Didn’t we hear that from Jennie? Congrats my friend, can’t wait to read more. Write on!

  9. Rory Hunter says:

    My heart is happy for you. This is such a good thing you are doing for yourself and all of us moms.

  10. Janelle says:

    This looks great, Jessica! Can’t wait to read more!

  11. julie says:

    Well good for you getting past the technical part. We are still working at that, but we are publishing on! Yes, I will follow you. Thanks for doing this. May it be to the glory of God. Love you little sis.

  12. Jennifer says:

    Wow Jessica! This made me cry. Please keep it up, you are awesome!

  13. I really admire your willingness to share your experiences with such openness and honesty. Your writing style is very personable! Wishing you an amazing journey of self-expression. I enjoyed your posts and look forward to reading more. Kiki

  14. Kimberly says:

    You have inspired me!!

  15. Wendy Rosato says:

    Love this! xoxo

  16. Gina Wood says:

    So proud of you Jessica! I’m honored to call you friend!

  17. Mary says:

    What an awesome first post!!

  18. Stanley says:

    What insight you have into the neglected and the trivial (to some who are not mothers). I have always enjoyed your writing and look forward to more. And take that time for yourself!

    Dad

  19. Craig Levine says:

    It looks like you started this blog about a month or two ago. I recall some earlier work that you have done…where is that material. I enjoy your style … I’ll keep tuning in.
    Craig

  20. Heather Meyer says:

    Awesome Jess! I just got to read or scan all that you have written while fighting the need to get out of bed and start the day. What a journey and really a continues journey my friend. I’m so proud of you for starting your blog dream. It’s really neat to read and although I remember sharing about certain milestones etc I wish we lived closer than our 20 some miles away!! Keep writing!!

Leave a Reply

