She Runs A Good Race

mothering is a marathon

I Will NEVER Drive a Mini-Van, and Other Stupid Things I Said Before I Had 3 Kids

on April 16, 2012

I will never yell at my kids.

I will never be one of those moms.

I will never bribe my kids to invite good behavior.

I will never let the TV be the babysitter.

I will never drive a mini-van.  (I’m too cool for that.) 

I will never let my kids eat at Taco Bell.

I will never let my kids talk back to me.

I will never have kids that jump on other people’s furniture.

I will never be one of those moms who doesn’t let their kids paint and do artsy stuff because I don’t want the house to get messy.

I will never yell at my kids.

I will never, ever give in to a tantrum. (This is mostly true.)

I will never care if they are dressed appropriately in matching clothes.

I will never allow my kids to watch Sponge Bob Square Pants or Power Rangers.

I will never fight with my husband in front of the kids.

I will never nag my husband in front of the kids.

I will never model slamming doors when I’m upset or frustrated.

I will never serve eggs or cereal for dinner.

I will never be the mom who is a germa-phobe and mess-a-phobe.  (I carry wipes in my purse and car at all times.)

My mother always said, “NEVER SAY NEVER.”  She was right. Again.

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “I Will NEVER Drive a Mini-Van, and Other Stupid Things I Said Before I Had 3 Kids

  1. Liz says:

    I said ALL of these as well…. yet I have done them all– except the mini-van (is a suburban really better?!?!) : ) again you have touched on the reality of motherhood so well — : )

  2. Erin V. says:

    So true Jess. It reminds me of a book I had a while ago. I think it was called “I Was An Amazing Mom, Before I Had Kids”. 🙂

  3. What a smart & insightful post! We love it so much that we’re featuring it on our Vanderbilt PWS Research Facebook page today.

    Check out our post about your blog here: http://on.fb.me/H7dL6R

Leave a Reply

